Farewell, my BlackBerry

20170311-blackberry

Two years ago, NTT Docomo announced that they will terminate BlackBerry Internet Service (BIS) in Japan on March 31, 2017. The reasons seem to be the rise of iPhone and Android and decrease of BlackBerry users. BlackBerry isn’t popular in Japan these days and its user like me might be considered as endangered species.

I have always been very satisfied with my BlackBerry. One of my favorite features is QWERTY keypad. Most smartphones sold in Japan have flick input for Japanese input methods. I don’t like flick input. QWERTY is better! Physical keypad is better!

Anyway, without BIS, my BlackBerry Bold 9900 will become just a phone receiver. No Internet, no emails, no apps. I have to find my next favorite smartphone. Maybe Huawei P9 Lite or … I don’t know. I already miss my BlackBerry.

Published by

Coco

mechanical engineer / music lover / coffee addict

Leave a comment

